Islamophobic politician fined in Finland for Facebook post


A Finnish politician has been fined after making a comment on his Facebook page following the Nice terror attack that “all terrorists are Muslims”.

Shortly after the horrific attack on July 14, last year, Teuvo Hakkarainen, a Finnish MP who is notorious for his anti-Muslim and anti-immigration comments, was fined almost €1160 after he published an article in relation to the terrorist attacker Mohamed Lahouaiej-Bouhlel and made the comment which violated the Finnish law of “ethnic agitation”.

Within his Facebook post, Hakkarainen said: “All Muslims are not terrorists, but all terrorists are Muslims.”

A member of the populist and eurosceptic Finns Party, Hakkarainen said he was completely unaware of the law – which was implemented in 2011 – but he accepted the verdict and the fine.

Since Finland’s district court in Jyvaskyla accused the Finnish MP of inciting ethnic agitation, he has continued to make anti-Muslim comments on Facebook.

The Berlin Christmas Market terror attack launched by Anis Amri evoked Hakkrainen to sarcastically say: “This is yet another indication of how much [Muslims] appreciate and respect the Western way of life.”

The Finns Party, maintains its eurosceptic stance by “supporting healthy national pride”, while opposing same-sex marriage, adoption and large-scale immigration.

According to a survey conducted by a national Finnish newspaper, Finnish people are most concerned about unemployment, with only 30 per cent of them find refugees, asylum seekers and uncontrolled immigration to be a problem.

Hakkarainen is not the only Finns Party member to be condemned for making controversial statements about Muslims and immigrants.

Olli Sademies, a former deputy City Council member in Helsinki was fired from his senior position and censured on Facebook for saying, all African men who move to Finland should be sterilised.

Sebastian Tynkkynen, a former chair of the Finns Party youth wing and Terhi Kiemunki, an assistant to a Finns Party MP, have also been accused of violating the ethnic agitation law and are to stand trial in 2017.